11 cars over 11 years, my Xpel and 3M experience

Discussion in 'SRT Hellcat Detailing' started by Hayabusa, Jun 14, 2015.

1. Hayabusa

Hayabusa Gold Member

Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    I've been a lurker on this forum for many months. I've learned a lot and would like to share some knowledge. As my ride was delivered to the dealership yesterday but isn't prepped yet I can't offer insights from ownership. I can share my experience with Xpel and 3M PPC's.

I've had 11 cars done over 11 years by 3 different installers. Here are my learnings and practices. This is just what I do, I am not an expert or trained installer.

I use Plexus (spray can, originally purchased to clean my motorcycle helmet and visor) and a microfiber cloth to clean bug splatter, bird poo, etc

I use LP Aero Plastics Inc Acrylic Polish and Sealant at the beginning and end of driving season for my "cool cars" and 4 times a year for my daily drivers. It is made for aircraft windshields and is a non-yellowing polish, cleaner, and sealer.

The wrap needs time and warmth to cure correctly. Low humidity is a blessing also. One installer gave me a syringe (he had a bunch of them for PPC installs but it creeps me out none the less) to suck the air out of any bubbles that show up. Go in at an angle and suck the air out then use the plastic smoother thingy to smooth it out. Only had to use it on a Viper with stripes where the stripes were laid over the clear (yep, it was factory stripe option. The Gen V's are finally under the clearcoat).

Both Xpel and 3M products worked well. Had to replace rocker sections of both brands on light colored Vipers because exhaust heat caused very slight yellowing over time. No other vehicle had issues with either brand although I've used Xpel on my last 5 rides.