Blower speed. Are pullied cars on borrowed time? Imp discussion

Discussion in 'SRT Hellcat Builds' started by Dr. SS, Aug 25, 2016.

1. Dr. SS

Dr. SS Silver Member

Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    who knows the specs on the IHI blower? How fast can u spin these blower before they are at a higher risk to fail? Forget about power , heat, diminished efficiency when spun to fast...at what point will they fail?

2.65/10% od pullied car tuned well on enough octane fuel (e85, or race has)

How fast is the blower speed /spinning? Is it to much? Is the blower destined to fail? Is it out of its safe rpm
    Range?

I daily drive my car .. 16k miles and I drive it mostly 99% on street and I'm a spirited driver
    Highway pulls here and there

How fast is my blower spinning? 20?-23,000 rpm?

W my mods and my car actually really being used as a daily driven car seeing a lot of use...is the blower on borrowed time?

Trying to determine whether I should just go to a 2.85/along w 10% OD w the e85 or 93... For longevitys sake

Would love to hear expertise and opinion below

2. CanHP

CanHP Silver Member

Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    I think the blower spins at max around 14K from the factory, so it has lots of room, I think?

The new Z06 blower is maxed out as I heard that from the factory it spins almost 20K.

I may not be correct, but I think I'm in the ballpark.

3. Racist Cat

Racist Cat Gold Member

Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    I thought hellcat max was 20k and factory was 19.5k

As a daily driver there isn't much to worry about.

Just take the max rpm the blower is designed to operate at, and with your overdriven pulleys, calculate at what engine rpm your blower rpm gets to its max, and in daily driving, don't exceed that rpm.

Racing is racing though.

Any piece of equipment spun faster than it's designed speed will live a shortened life. Speed costs, how fast you wanna go?

4. CanHP

CanHP Silver Member

Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat