Camera system not available

Discussion in 'SRT Hellcat General Discussions' started by 707hpcharger, Jul 5, 2016.

  1. 707hpcharger

    707hpcharger Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Vehicle:
    Charger SRT Hellcat
    Anybody else get a blue screen and a "camera system unavailable " message when shifting into reverse?
    2016 Charger Hellcat, has happened 4 -6 times already in the first 1000 miles.
     
  2. Steven_sbs

    Steven_sbs Browncoats Unite Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2014
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    326
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    My first thought would be a loose connection in the trunk lid where the camera connects. That's easier to check than a loose connection in the back of the head unit under the dash.
     
  3. PlumCrazyHellCat

    PlumCrazyHellCat Senior Hellcat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    98
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
    Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    Nope not me. Sounds like you need to make the dreaded trip to the dealer...
     
  4. rayzazoo

    rayzazoo DRIVESRT.COM Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    2,974
    Likes Received:
    1,091
    Trophy Points:
    668
    Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    Sounds like a bad connection to the camera or bad UConnect flash on the software.

    That'll be a warranty claim at the dealership.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. 707hpcharger

    707hpcharger Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Vehicle:
    Charger SRT Hellcat
    Photo of screen S Memo.jpg
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  6. MABBRYFL30

    MABBRYFL30 NYS President Hellcat Car Club Gold Supporting Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Messages:
    4,588
    Likes Received:
    1,825
    Trophy Points:
    568
    Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    def sounds like you may need some type of software update and possibly a module that may need replacement. most modules can be updated without needing replacement
     
  7. MABBRYFL30

    MABBRYFL30 NYS President Hellcat Car Club Gold Supporting Member

    Top Poster Of Month

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Messages:
    4,588
    Likes Received:
    1,825
    Trophy Points:
    568
    Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    The blue screen of death as we say like we do when our PC's do it. there are at least two modules that affect performance of this radio, telematics and
    RFH. both of them also have updated flashes for software
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  8. CubeMan

    CubeMan Tri-State Overlord

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    468
    Trophy Points:
    403
    Location:
    Westchester
    Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    Camera connection is lose or disconnected or faulty.
     
  9. solo7777

    solo7777 SRT Terminator Hellcat Car Club Western Regional President HCC Charter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3,033
    Likes Received:
    1,367
    Trophy Points:
    768
    Location:
    City Of The Angels
    Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    Did you try to reset the U Connect?
     
  10. 707hpcharger

    707hpcharger Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Vehicle:
    Charger SRT Hellcat
    Haven't tried to reset anything. Figured it would be a software glitch or something as it is intermittent.
    How would one reset the uconnect?
     
  11. Steven_sbs

    Steven_sbs Browncoats Unite Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2014
    Messages:
    787
    Likes Received:
    326
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    That's the same screen I got when I disconnected my camera to remove the spoiler for painting. Reconnected the camera and it all worked again.
     

Share This Page