Diablosport PCM

Discussion in 'SRT Hellcat Performance' started by PhantomWorks, Jan 13, 2016.

  1. PhantomWorks

    PhantomWorks Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    180
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    Charger SRT Hellcat
    Why does Diablosport need my mileage when I order a new PCM for my HC?
     
  2. FarAwayFromHere

    FarAwayFromHere Gold Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2015
    Messages:
    1,417
    Likes Received:
    443
    Trophy Points:
    218
    Location:
    CA-NA-DA
    Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    To input into unlocked unit,think of it as insurance!
     
  3. PhantomWorks

    PhantomWorks Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    180
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    Charger SRT Hellcat
    I see what you saying, but not a clue what you mean? So tell them I have 1000k miles...so what? By the time I get it and have it tuned I may have 1500 miles.
     
  4. PhantomWorks

    PhantomWorks Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    180
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    Charger SRT Hellcat
    Or what if I don't use it until I have 5k miles. What's the insurance?
     
  5. FarAwayFromHere

    FarAwayFromHere Gold Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2015
    Messages:
    1,417
    Likes Received:
    443
    Trophy Points:
    218
    Location:
    CA-NA-DA
    Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    My understanding is,
    Every Computer has a vin attached to it with all the pertinant details included theirin.
    As well if ever dealer serviced you can re install stock tune and no-one is the wiser,
    "Insurance was a figure of speech"
    There is also 2 ways to do it,either provide yours to unlock,or purchase a new one
    That has been unlocked.my guess is you got a whole new one,then diablo needs the vin to marry it to the ECM or computer.
    Diablo also uses vin so it can only be used on your car,unless you pay for multiple vehicle license.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2016
  6. Senderofan

    Senderofan Track in, Apex, Track out and Repeat! Hellcat Car Club Gold Supporting Member HCC Charter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    205
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Upper Midwest
    Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    I think it's because the PCM is the conductor of the symphony of other smaller computers and or information devices. The cars odometer reading is stored in the dash cluster. I think if your odometer reads 1500 miles and a replacement PCM read 100,000 miles........the PCM is going to make note of that discrepency and it would be a flag for a dealer. Regardless....this was required when I swapped a PCM into a 2015 Jeep, with similar PCM, and with the accurate info. it has worked flawlessly.
     
  7. rayzazoo

    rayzazoo DRIVESRT.COM Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Messages:
    3,033
    Likes Received:
    1,102
    Trophy Points:
    668
    Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    I wonder if the the odometer reading has something to do with the encryption key or checksum :)
     
  8. FarAwayFromHere

    FarAwayFromHere Gold Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2015
    Messages:
    1,417
    Likes Received:
    443
    Trophy Points:
    218
    Location:
    CA-NA-DA
    Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    :confused:
     
  9. Aaron Vogel

    Aaron Vogel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    230
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    I've wondered about the mileage as well, like if i tell them i have 10k miles, and i get the PCM later and i have 13k miles, does that mess anything up on the cluster? Or like someone said, will it just cause an error to be noted by the dealer? Or same thing if i put the modifed one in at 10k and swap it out for warranty work at 18k, will the old PCM update milage correctly?
     
  10. PhantomWorks

    PhantomWorks Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    180
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    Charger SRT Hellcat
    I just contacted Diablosport. I will post their response when I get it.
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  11. Aaron Vogel

    Aaron Vogel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    230
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    I messaged them a couple hours ago as well
     
  12. PhantomWorks

    PhantomWorks Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    548
    Likes Received:
    180
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Florida
    Vehicle:
    Charger SRT Hellcat
    Lol! I had told them in the message that it was an ongoing discussion in our forum so they shouldn't be surprised.
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2016
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Aaron Vogel

    Aaron Vogel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    230
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    I've always enjoyed their tunes and products, just no one has given a good explanation of the whole mileage issues and between swapping PCMs
     
  14. Link

    Link Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2015
    Messages:
    803
    Likes Received:
    160
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    So what you can do is if you have 10k mileage, report a value slightly higher and change it when they match??
     
  15. Aaron Vogel

    Aaron Vogel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    230
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    They replied back to me with this statement

    "We ask for the mileage because the PCM requires a value to be set. We prefer to keep it as close to the cluster's mileage as possible, but it doesn't matter if the 2 are off."

    So, from that, i take it was it really doesn't matter what value that you give, either 10k or 100k, they just need to see show a value for when they program the PCM, and they prefer it to be close. So, i did reply and ask, ok but what happens when you swap PCM's back and forth, waiting to see on that one.
     
    • Useful Useful x 1

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

2016 ram diablo tuner odometer

,

hellcat challenger pcm

,

why does diablosport need your vin and odometer to order a pcm