Driveshaft angles, demonstration

Discussion in 'SRT Hellcat General Discussions' started by Slowhand, Mar 3, 2015.

1. Slowhand

Slowhand Gold Member

Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  2. magnummrk

magnummrk SRT Hellcat Supporter Gold Supporting Member

Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
  3. Blackdevil77

Blackdevil77 Silver Member

Vehicle:
    Charger SRT Hellcat
    Interesting, thanks for posting. Is this why the Hellcats use a 2 piece drive shaft? There isn't a straight shot to the diff from the transmission and they need to angle it?

4. Slowhand

Slowhand Gold Member

Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    Based on this and some other info I get the idea it is because the 2-piece units have different harmonics/resonant frequencies per piece and 1 may dampen the other. But that may be unadulerated BS also. I am not a mechanical engineer. But at 200mph, the driveshaft is spinning much faster than most. To make it stronger, easiest to make it larger diameter. But that creates more angular momentum to overcome. Tradeoffs everywhere.

Last edited: Mar 4, 2015
  5. B5 Blue

B5 Blue Platinum Member

Vehicle:
    Charger SRT Hellcat
    edit

Last edited: Mar 3, 2015
  6. CasualObserver

CasualObserver Senior Hellcat Member

Vehicle:
    Charger SRT Hellcat