SRT Hellcat Forum banner

E85 The GOOD and the BAD

71K views 178 replies 38 participants last post by  rift33 
#1 ·
Anyone have good or bad experience with e85 being used on their cat??

Can anything be added to the tank if it's going to sit for long periods of time??

I hear it's great race fuel, how does it perform on a long haul trip??

Any and all information will be appreciated!!

#3 ·
I have been running it for 6 months and just over 3,500 miles. I love it. I pay $1.54 gal but I do go to the gas station more often.

I have been running it for 6 months and just over 3,500 miles. I love it. I pay $1.54 gal but I do go to the gas station more often.
I've heard "no experience", that if it sits for long periods of time that is not good!! Is there a way to combat this problem and how long is to long to let it sit in the tank??

#4 ·
it doesn't take but a few minutes to run the tank dry, so no reason to let it sit. It likes water, so it will suck in moisture from any/all available air. I assume that if you keep the tank topped off, it will have less surface area to absorb the moisture, and you should be OK from that perspective.
No reason that if you were "storing" it you couldn't run the E85 out and store it with ethanol free fuel.

What mods are required to run E85?

#7 ·
it doesn't take but a few minutes to run the tank dry, so no reason to let it sit. It likes water, so it will suck in moisture from any/all available air. I assume that if you keep the tank topped off, it will have less surface area to absorb the moisture, and you should be OK from that perspective.
No reason that if you were "storing" it you couldn't run the E85 out and store it with ethanol free fuel.

What mods are required to run E85?
I'm still learning

Injectors
Boost a Pump
E85 Tune
Cat and or mid muffler delete

Plus what ever u need to achieve your desired horsepower!!

#5 ·
cole3986 also runs E-85 and can give some good info for daily driving and racing.