Factory air box flip for quick cold air conversion

Discussion in 'SRT Hellcat General Discussions' started by weebz, Jan 24, 2016.

1. weebz

weebz Gold Member

Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    Okay I'm a newbie and I haven't read all the historical post and I've only had my Hellcat two week, please don't chime in if this is already been done or over done. I have read a few post about cold air intakes and have done a little research online. As I continue to look at the hood vent opening it lines up perfectly with the factory air box. But that hood vent openings does nothing for cold air as the factory air box is sealed on the top. So I decided to do a little bit of tinkering with a couple screwdrivers. I took the top of the airbox off mainly to see what the air filter looks like and to see if I could modify or cut holes in the top of that factory air box so the hood vent would actually be functional with the air box. But what I came up with was actually better than that. I disconnected the wire to the mass air sensor and loosened the hose clamp on the air box tube. I then simply rotated the top half of the air box 180 degrees. I had to snake the mass air sensor wire to a lower position to where it would reach the mass air sensor location on the air box tube which is now on the bottom. After a little bit of moving around the top half of the air box now upside down and sitting inside the bottom half of the air box. I then put the air filter on and dropped the hood. The air filter nestles right there at the hood vent grille for a pretty tight seal.