Favorite tint film?

Discussion in 'General Automotive Discussion' started by 16SRT, May 27, 2016.

1. 16SRT

16SRT VIP Hellcat Member

Vehicle:
    Charger SRT 392
    I'm interested in doing some tinting. Total newb on this, as I haven't had a car tinted since high school (25+ years ago), but I've been reading up on it. PA has a limit of VLT = 70%, which really puts a limit on keeping it legal. I'm not looking for full-on limo tint (this is my daily driver / want to see at night), but would have liked to have gone a little darker than 70% VLT. Oh well. Best I could do is search for something with low absorbtion, to max out VLR within the allowable 70% VLT.

Considering 3M Crystalline 70, but interested in what others have used, and how happy they are with the results. Also interested in performance of various electronics with some of the metallic films, esp. cell phone reception.

2. Toolman_42

Toolman_42 Gold Member

Vehicle:
    Charger SRT Hellcat
    Used 3m Crystalline. VA is 50% front side windows, 35% on rear. The 3m Crystalline product proves it doesn't have to be dark to be effective. No other product can compare on the performance numbers. The only thing close might be one of the high end Huper Optik films.

Overall it's a excellent product! Mine is a daily driver and visibility is great. Extremely happy with it and would do it again. Nothing better on heat rejection! A little more expensive than some of the others but the performance is well worth it.

3. F6F-3

F6F-3 SRT Hellcat Owner Hellcat Car Club Gold Supporting Member HCC Charter Member

Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    Whatever you choose, be sure to have the installer to avoid having moisture get behind the dash. Several members had electrical issues. Search the forum for previous posts.

• Agree Agree x 2
  4. Nitemare

Nitemare Silver Member

Vehicle:
    Charger SRT 392
    3M Crystalline is beaten by Llumar.