Getting a Hellcat

Discussion in 'SRT Hellcat Purchasing' started by SRT_HC_707, Jan 5, 2015.

1. SRT_HC_707

SRT_HC_707 SRT_HC_707 Staff Member

Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    Hi folks, I'm a newbie to the forum. I've been lurking for a bit and signed up recently.

I've been stalking the Hellcat since before it came out. I figured I would give it some time to get out of my system but that never happened. I've decided it's time to pounce (better late than never I guess).

I've done the following so far...

1. Calling around for available cars. I definitely want an A8 and I have some specific options I would like but I do have some flexibility on color and options which is good (the more I look at various colors the more I like them). It seems that there are more M6 cars available on dealer lots than M8s (at least in my search). So far any available car I've found has some sort of ADM on it. I don't do ADM, never did and never will. I've offered MSRP on the cars I've found but no takers (yet at least).
    2. Spoke with a three local dealers. All are willing to order me a car and sell at MSRP. I don't get the sense that these dealers all 100% understand the process for ordering these (I"m not sure I understand 100% either so feel free to enlighten me).
      1. Dealer 1: Small dealer, has no allocations at this time, has several 4 Hellcats on order (one in transit), they want a reasonable deposit refundable prior to VIN issue. Said they have no idea how long it will take to get the car (6 months, 12 months). Spoke with sales rep, owner and sales manager. All seem like straight shooters that won't play games later.
      2. Dealer 2: Gave me a similar story to dealer one. This is a larger (medium to large dealer). Sales person seems to be a good guy. Haven't dealt with anyone else there yet. I don't know if they will pull any shenanigans later (where I don't think Dealer 1 will).