Going to a road course....Any tips?

Discussion in 'SRT Hellcat Racing Forum' started by Just4Fun, May 17, 2015.

1. Just4Fun

Just4Fun Senior Hellcat Member

Vehicle:
    Charger SRT Hellcat
    I'll be taking the Charger to Gingerman Raceway in South Haven Michigan in early June. I have no road course experience. They will rent the track to me and hook me up with a Pro Driver, he'll sit shotgun and help me out. I think his instruction is going to be VERY helpful. We'll have the track to ourselves.
    I raced Moto Cross back in the 70's and early 80's, so I have some idea about picking lines ect.....
    But, I don't expect much or any of those experiences to transfer here.
    Do any of you have any tips or suggestions?

2. Nycsrt

Nycsrt BANNED

Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    Follow turn in points and hit every Apex squeeze brakes hard on turn on and full gas on turn out but has to be blended so car don't go 180

3. Next Phase

Next Phase Silver Member

Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    Biggest advice is that it's not a race... You will be passed (if permitted) and that's okay. Check your ego at the door.

You are there to learn the car and the track and to have fun AND most importantly drive your car home with you.

Unless you have specific track insurance, you'll be responsible for any accidents financially .

Your instructor will probably start by teaching you the lines of the track and as you get those down, they'll add other things to focus on....like threshold braking, etc.

Once you've had some seat time, I'd ask to get a ride with the instructor driving OR someone with some experience so you can see how they take the track and certain turns. Some tracks like VIR have a number of lines that you can take for some of the turns.

I think you'll have a blast learning the limits of adhesion and catching the rear end with the steering inputs / throttle. Please post up after the event!

4. Just4Fun

Just4Fun Senior Hellcat Member

Vehicle: