Hellcat automatic question

Discussion in 'Dodge Challenger SRT Hellcat' started by quakejake, Jun 28, 2016.

1. quakejake

quakejake Active Hellcat Member

Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    A newbie here.Does the auto in manual shift mode have a quick reaction time when using the paddles?

2. Slowpoke387

Slowpoke387 VIP Hellcat Member

Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    Yep

• Agree Agree x 5
  3. Toolman_42

Toolman_42 Gold Member

Vehicle:
    Charger SRT Hellcat
    It will bang them out and light up the tires given the opportunity

• Agree Agree x 3
  4. jcsernik

jcsernik Hellcat Member

Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    I think in Track mode it is supposed to be 160ms shift time and features rev-match downshifts.

• Agree Agree x 2
  5. quakejake

quakejake Active Hellcat Member

Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    Thanks

6. mdmoore23

mdmoore23 Senior Hellcat Member

Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    Fastest torque converter auto I've experienced by far. The A8 is awesome. I guess that's why so many automakers are using ZF 8 speeds.

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. SRT Fan

SRT Fan Rookie

Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    Yep… Instant response from the paddles and transmission.

Of course, you’ll want to have the transmission set to “Sport” at least, if you plan to get on it.

Here are some tips from one newbie to another. I’m still learning to get along with the automatic, myself. This is literally the first automatic car I have owned since I was 17 years old, so it has taken time to unlearn 40 years of habits. Hell, I don’t even know what to do with my left foot during spirited driving or just cruising – I have to continually remind myself of the dead pedal foot rest.

Tip# 1: Go into the screen setup for the dash display. Make sure the Current Gear setting is “On” and set the Gear Display to “Single”. The gear display in not really big enough, but it is a necessary feature and the "Single" display is better.