How I become a Hellcat addict & question about insurance

Discussion in 'SRT Hellcat General Discussions' started by rgigowski, Jul 10, 2015.

1. rgigowski

rgigowski SRT Hellcat Supporter Gold Supporting Member

Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    I live in the Dallas area and the is a HVAC company that did a give back to the community promo by giving away a 2015 Challenger Hellcat. Basically you had to participate in the promotion by following Facebook, Twitter and local events for game codes and scratch-off cards.

They were giving away 11 finalist spots and each finalist had a chance to start the Hellcat. Only 9 spots were claimed and yours truly managed to have two of those.

I started playing in February when my wife was in the hospital recovering from an infection from a surgery in December. We were there the entire month and I didn't have much to do but play the game. Obviously, with two shots at the car, I nailed the game.

You may have seen it, Richard Rawlings of Gas Monkey Garage fame was part of the promo: A 1 Air Hellcat Grand Prize Winner Richard Rawlings Gas Monkey Garage - YouTube

I am the guy with the yellow shirt on in the beginning of the video (with my wife and I was so happy she was well enough to attend with me), and I am the the 2nd one in the car with two monkeys, one for each chance I had. The monkey had a box attached to it which either contained the key fob or some other item. We randomly picked the monkeys and were not allowed to open the box.

Anyways, if you watch the video you will see I was not fortunate enough to walk away with the Hellcat. The guy that won it, was deserving of it. He has a medical issue and I don't think he works because of it. I spoke to him yesterday and he sold the Hellcat, took the money and bought a house. Huge success story for he and his wife. Young couple. What surprised me was what he was quoted for insurance, $300 per month! Ughly for sure.