Is 485+hp really this slow? Ok, why not.

Discussion in 'Dodge Charger SRT 392' started by hsochs, Jun 10, 2016.

?

I bought the SRT392 over the ScatPack because

Poll closed Jul 19, 2016.
  1. Prove I can afford the more expensive car; status.

16.7%
  2. Suspension upgrades - better handling, I'm a driver.

50.0%
  3. I want the 3mode variable suspension so I can yacht it when I want, scat pack doesn't do it.

33.3%
  4. For the secret 600hp mode.

33.3%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. hsochs

hsochs Rookie

Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    What settings do I have to disable to get the ScatPack(or SRT392) to drive loose and free?

Below, I'm discussing a couple of test drives of the 392engine, albeit in ScatPack models. I know there are suspension and tire differences between this and the ScatPack, I'm hoping you will be able to solve a performance related issue. Perhaps the SRT392 is the answer but to get to that I have to give you a sense of my experience in the ScatPack, maybe you will have experience with both cars and can help me figure out if any one these Sedan platforms are for me. THANKS in advance!!

I’ve test driven the ScatPack Sedan twice and coupe once. I know that I am supposed to love this car but my test drives leave me feeling disconnected and that shouldn’t happen in a car with 485+hp and a sport mode button, lap timers in the cluster etc,etc So, I’m trying to figure out what has separated me the newb from feeling the burn and wanting to buy it.

Ok, heres the history. I drove a white ScatPack 2 months ago but had no idea about its super track pack settings. So, my test drive was rush hour slow with a brief highway blast and most likely the steering was in its firmest setting. So, the car never felt loose, it felt heavy and cumbersome and square. And the acceleration was good at best.