MacBook Pro...Turning off Computer Sharing feature?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by Driver72, Apr 3, 2016.

  1. Driver72

    Driver72 Gold Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    Messages:
    1,203
    Likes Received:
    276
    Trophy Points:
    218
    Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    I am traveling for business, as I occasionally do.
    This morning I clicked on the Mac Hard Drive icon.
    On the left pops up all the menus and in it I saw the "Sharing" feature and saw 3 other computers with names like "Shauna's MacBook", etc. (probably peeps in the same hotel within range of mine).

    How do I turn off the Sharing feature while I'm traveling?

    Thanks
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. MattG

    MattG Gold Member Hellcat Car Club

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    453
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    Vehicle:
    Charger SRT Hellcat
    Look in your itunes settings. Sharing is in there for media.
    Everytime Apple comes out with an update, i have to check my Cloud settings, and itunes and dropbox settings.
    They might turn on without having a secure password and let people see your device.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  3. Driver72

    Driver72 Gold Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    Messages:
    1,203
    Likes Received:
    276
    Trophy Points:
    218
    Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    Thanks Matt, I'll check in the iTunes.
    And yes, ironically I just updated my Mac.
    I really hate doing updates (but they sort of force you at times in order to use new programs or updated software) as they never tell you exactly what they are doing and crap like this, turning on Sharing function ticks me off.
    I've never seen that on there before.
     
  4. Driver72

    Driver72 Gold Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2015
    Messages:
    1,203
    Likes Received:
    276
    Trophy Points:
    218
    Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    Ok turned off the sharing in iTunes.
    Interestingly enough, when I clicked on the Mac Harddrive, I still see the Sharing function on there and still see a guy named Gary Thorpe's computer and Shauna's iMac.
    So I clicked on System Preferences and noticed a "Sharing" icon next to the Bluetooth icon.
    I clicked that on and it states all Sharing is turned OFF for my computer.
    So I wonder if that Gary and Shauna's computers are coming up on my computer because their's are ON but they can't see mine?
    Luckily for them, I'm not a computer tech or hacker, otherwise it would be easy pickings apparently.

    Thanks again.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. SRT_HC_707

    SRT_HC_707 SRT_HC_707 Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Messages:
    4,920
    Likes Received:
    1,417
    Trophy Points:
    778
    Location:
    70.196059, -148.559760
    Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    Go System Preferences (from the apple menu top left), then find the "Sharing" folder. Turn everything off
     
    • Like Like x 2

Share This Page