My Thoughts On Dynos...

Discussion in 'SRT Hellcat Performance' started by VanishingPoint, Jan 31, 2015.

1. VanishingPoint

VanishingPoint Silver Member

Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    Caveat: I am not a professional racer, engine builder, dyno operator, etc. but 25+ years of owning and dynoing performance cars/motorcycles, I have determined the following:

Dynos can "lie."

If one town has two dyno shops, one will always claim the other dyno numbers are juiced up to make the vehicle owners feel better, and the other guy will say the other guy's dyno is junk or he doesn't know how to operate it, hence his lower numbers.

Guess who will get more business? The guy who gets the bigger numbers.

I took a BMW M5 V-10 (one of the original "twin" setting engines of 400 vs 500hp) and ran it both ways. Driveline loss through the SMG (semi auto manual) 7 spd equaled roughly 15% in what I would describe as a fairly efficient semi automatic manual trans which was NOT capable of handling much torque. This 15% was determined after multiple runs on a dyno using the same settings vs factory stated power.

It helps to think of "driveline loss" as a percentage of drag, that rises and falls but is a rough equivalent-which is why the more you make, the more you lose. (just like it is claimed the 6.2 2.4 supercharger uses 80 HP to make HP; it doesn't suck -80 hp at idle. Maybe 5-10 hp. But at say 6,000 rpms the drag imposed costs 80 hp on the engine to make, 707 hp).

In my mind, a big, heavy duty 8 speed auto designed to handle this cars power and abuse for over 100,000+ miles-in my mind-would have a driveline loss of at least 15% (remember, driveline includes the trans, driveshaft, rear end, axles, brakes, and rim/tire weight (these are 20's). According to that, the dyno *should* read roughly 600 Rear Wheel HP (RWHP is HP appllied from the wheel to the road directly, always less than engine output).