Pinning the Crank - 'How to', Photos & Service Documents

Discussion in 'SRT Hellcat Maintenance' started by owenspackman, Jan 23, 2016.

1. owenspackman

owenspackman BritishCat

Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    **This post is just to document my installation and to show the steps for those who may be interested. It's not a post to discuss the Pro/Cons of pinning. There are many of those on the forum, if you feel the need!**

Pinning the crank - A much harder job than I ever thought.

I've had some limited experience with working on cars, I managed the Metco Pulley swap on the Hellcat, lowering springs and have pulled off Challenger front fascia's off before, so had thought pinning the crank wouldn't be too hard.

My pinning kit arrived from HHP (it includes the bolt/bushing for drilling, pin and 1/4" HSS Drill bit) and my replacement crank bolt, so I was ready to go.

Firstly, I always have a nightmare jacking the car, it sits so low my jacks never fit under, I guess it's time to invest it a decent low profile jack, but, for now I just drive up onto 2x4's to make things a little easier.

Up she went.
    IMG_5120.jpg IMG_5121.jpg IMG_5122.jpg

Removing the front fascia can be a pretty long process, many hidden push pins and nuts. To save me writing out all of the instructions, I've attached the service document provided in another thread by ResumeSpeed.

Here are some other photos of the fascia removal.
    IMG_5123.jpg IMG_5124.jpg IMG_5125.jpg IMG_5126.jpg IMG_5127.jpg

Then comes the harder work. We removed the radiator and fan. They both have to come out from under the car, no way they'll fit removing from the top, no matter how hard you try. You'll need to drain the radiator of all coolant and then some, because it's going to be messy. We left the A/C and Heat Exchanger in the car, there would certainly be more room if these were removed, but we weren't even about to start messing with that. We just used some bungees to help support them.