Top speed from factory?

Discussion in 'Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat' started by gatorguy, Feb 1, 2016.

  1. gatorguy

    gatorguy It's too late to fall in love with Sharon Tate! Hellcat Car Club

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Moultrie, Ga
    Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    I found a good deal on a 16 B5 Challenger HC and traded my 15 TorRed. I met the dealer halfway and when I checked the performance pages the top speed was 189! Is it possible that it was set at the factory somehow or did it have to happen after it reached the dealer? Thanks for y'alls help!
     
  2. BD2DBONE

    BD2DBONE Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    945
    Likes Received:
    212
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    I have definitely read 2 threads on this and the conclusions were that the car wasn't not actually driven that fast. One posted by Snappycat was after work was done on the car, he was really upset, and the dealer showed him what they did. They gave it gas on the lift.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Catless

    Catless Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Messages:
    951
    Likes Received:
    193
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Parkersburg, WV
    Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    Mine had all kinds of crazy stuff in it from the factory including a default mode that was not the proper default mode. I wouldn't worry about it.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Aaron Vogel

    Aaron Vogel Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Messages:
    1,261
    Likes Received:
    230
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Everywhere
    Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    Another post mentioned that when they "boot" up the car for the first sometimes it latches a high speed reading even though it hasn't done anything yet
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. MrDolomite

    MrDolomite Rookie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Michigan
    Vehicle:
    Charger SRT Hellcat
    Any top speed on a nav system where you didn't personally drive it is suspect.

    My 2014 Chrysler 300S AWD with the V6 engine had this reading. So, of course, I never reset it. :)
    .
    Chrysler300-TopSpeed.jpg
     
  6. PlumTexasCrazy

    PlumTexasCrazy HELLCAT LIFE MEMBER Hellcat Car Club HCC Charter Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    652
    Trophy Points:
    308
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    Mine said 198mph, with only 3 miles on it when I picked it up from dealer.. My understanding is the tech forgot to reset from the factory.. They have to test that the speedometer will actually work at that speed(It is not driven to do the test).. I learned this through previous threads/posts on this site! No worries for me!!
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2016
    • Useful Useful x 1
  7. BULL

    BULL ________173.7mph_______ ___2016 Colorado Mile___ Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,954
    Likes Received:
    609
    Trophy Points:
    458
    Location:
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    Challenger SRT Hellcat
    198mph on my with 7miles, not practical to achieve this.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1

Share This Page