SRT Hellcat Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey folks, this is only my second post here. I mainly read the posts to learn more about my car. I have a 2019 Charger Hellcat with 5000 miles. It's not a daily driver. I mostly take it out on weekends. I do not race it and mostly do "sporty" driving when and where I can when I can avoid traffic and the lawman. Anyway, recently I've noticed a shudder in the braking when I am coming to a stop at a red light or in traffic. It only happens when I'm slowly decreasing speed and nearing a full stop. The car seems to lurch and it feels like the brakes are releasing and then re-engaging. It doesn't do it every time and seems to happen after I've driven a bit. Has anyone experienced this? I'm no mechanic and only know enough to be dangerous. If anyone can offer any insight that would be very helpful and much appreciated.

·
Registered
Charger SRT Hellcat
796 Posts
Does the steering wheel shimmy and/or the brake pedal pulsate during the event?

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Could it be the transmission downshifting? It's automatic, not manual trans.

·
Registered
In The Market
1,319 Posts
5k here too. Have not noticed it. 2020 HC C Redeye. Has the occasional click or double click when stopping. At rest. Some kind of 2 piece related reset. Probably different but fyi. Keep us posted.

·
Registered
Charger SRT Hellcat
1,398 Posts
If it’s brake material on the rotor, you need to do several 80mph hard stops and then drive it for 5 minutes without braking to allow the rotors to cool. This should knock any contamination off the rotor surface and rebed the pads.

·
Registered
2020 Challenger Hellraisin Scat Pack.
2,476 Posts