SRT Hellcat Forum banner
  • Hey Everyone! Vote for the Site Favourite HOTM winner for the year of 2022 HERE!
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just picked my Redeye up a few weeks ago just hit 1000 miles and plan on racing.
What rear wheel size and back spacing do I use if I go with a bead lock wheel?
I assume I need a 17x10 inch wheel.
What beadlock wheel brand does anyone suggest?
I assume Mickey Thompson ET street 305/45R17 is the tire?
I do not want 315 due to trimming potential.

These are pricey so I want to make sure I buy the right stuff.

What do the experts here suggest?

Thanks

· Registered
Challenger SRT Hellcat Redeye
279 Posts
I am not an expert on anything but have a few sets of welds. I like the look of the 18 wheel better because the 18 x 305 MT street R are 28.9 tall, or maybe 29. I am not a fan of the look of the shorter 28.0 305 street R tires for 17" wheels but if you have a 2.62 gear they may go a little quicker. I hooked up 2 times with my stock redeye with a 3.09 and 18's and pulled a 1.49 each time matting it off idle, and that works for me. I like a tire at least 28.6" tall on our cars on the street if I can get that for optimum appearance. I had to settle for 28.0 on the front of blue with the narrows for at the track..

I find beadlocks are un-necessary for what I do, stock. Instead of Hi Tack on the wheels to hold the tires I use Molasses and the tires seem to hold pretty good, but move a little bit once in a while which doesn't ever seem to bother it on the drive home. A non-issue. The molasses is very sticky and cleans up easy whereas Hi Tack not so much.